Rosacea To Wonder Woman: How the Practice of Self-Nurture Impacted My Life!

Shileen - before and after
Shileen Nixon – Before and After Rosacea

I was so disgusted with my face. The large hard cyst-like bumps would take weeks sometimes months to heal and go away. Pus or no pus the bumps would always scar. I would console myself with the fact that at least my entire face was no longer flaming red. That was progress, wasn’t it?
It was rosacea, an incurable skin disorder that can be disfiguring (think W.C. Fields with the red bulbous nose) even blinding. I suffered with it for about 20 years but still would not believe the incurable part of this disorder nor was I willing to constantly take antibiotics or any other medicine long term.

I knew there had to be something, someway to cure this disorder. I prayed for guidance and direction with every flare up. And don’t you know, the flare ups would come at the worst times – any special event when I wanted to look my best. Frustrating to say the least! Feeling beautiful would fly right out the door when someone would ask me, “What’s wrong with your face?” Just what every woman wants to be asked.

Rosacea was a gift to me. Oh I didn’t know that at the time, but it was my body’s way of telling me there was something wrong inside. My body was crying out for help. I knew that I needed help … I just had no idea what kind.

I searched the Internet and searched and searched. I would often cry out to the Lord asking him for help until finally one day He heard my cry. He brought into my life the most beautiful mentor. Georgie Holbrook taught me so many things about my spirit, about what I needed deep inside. She introduced me to releasing stuck emotions from my body and she introduced me to self-nurture. I had no idea at the time just how much that would change my life!

Turns out that my face was reacting to old stuck emotions from the problems of my past. Georgie calls it “issues in your tissues”. I certainly did have issues in my tissues. We went to work right away and I was amazed with the results. As the layers began to peel back healing also began to take place. The great part is that she taught me fun, gentle methods to release those issues. It wasn’t grueling psycho-therapy kind of stuff.

Right along side of that particular healing method, I learned about self-nurture, which was basically how to care for myself. Shouldn’t I have known how to do that? One would think so, but I didn’t as so many others don’t either.

“What women need is to learn how to nurture themselves. We need to shower as much loving kindness on ourselves as we habitually shower on loved ones, and even not-so-loved ones. We need to be loved for our fully formed selves, not for our dependent, appeasing selves. And the only way we can have fully formed selves is by granting ourselves the same tenderness and fierce protectiveness we’d otherwise reserve for a beloved child.”
~Alice D. Domar, PhDSelf-Nurture

For the first time in a very long time I started to come alive. What I didn’t tell you is that I was also very depressed. There were days that I didn’t get out of bed on top of having the disfiguring skin disorder. But, with the help of my Emotional Wellness Coach (Georgie), I began to explore the world around me and my spirit began to soar. I often found that the simplest activities would give me the biggest punch.
The depression lifted and my face healed as I released the issues from my tissues AND practiced self-nurture. I am so grateful for my coach. We stay in touch to this day. As a matter of fact we had the awesome privilege of meeting each other in person for the first time just recently. I thank my God every time I think of her.

Because of this supposed disfiguring incurable skin disorder, I am healed on many levels, my inner beauty shines forth more than ever before, and now I get to touch women’s lives all over the world by teaching the practice of self-nurture. Self-nurture impacts the whole person … body, mind, and spirit.

Today I have many, many tools in my self-nurture toolbox helping me to take care of myself so that I can give from a full cup. As for my skin, I practice a good skin care regiment and take a skin supportive supplement called Jusuru, which is a liquid collagen. If my skin is looking and/or feeling off (or anything else for that matter) I check in with myself to see what stressor might be causing the problem and then I go to work on relieving that stress, which is part of my self-nurture practice.

Whether you have an incurable disorder or disease, depression, stress, or just searching for more joy, happiness, and the release of inner beauty in your life, I invite you to learn the practice of self-nurture. Join The Wonder Woman Challenge, a 30-day self-nurture challenge that will change your life!

You too can become a woman of wonder through the practice of self-nurture. It just might be what you’ve been searching for!

_________________________________________________________________________

About the Author:
Shileen Nixon has been a student of holistic health for 17 years. She is an Emotional Wellness Coach who specializes in the practice of self-nurture. She is also the creator and founder of The Wonder Woman Challenge, a 30-day challenge that will change your life through the practice of self-nurture. You can find more information at:
http://shileennixon.com
admin@shileennixon.com

What do you think?

